My last letter to a friend…

Craig,

 

I know it’s been awhile since we talked…Mar 12 2006, and I’d like to say that I’ve been busy but that’s not the real reason. I didn’t know how to say thank you for your last words to me and I didn’t know how to apologize. You were my team leader and you were my friend. I was your medic…and I failed you. I did my best. I kept IV’s in you, kept stuffing kerlix into holes that shouldn’t be there. I tried. You grabbed me and yelled at me to get back in the fight. You watched as your team rallied on you for the last time. We held that spot, your spot, on the ground in a country far from home. Angel-25 arrived with the QRF and we watched it land together as we had in the past. This time was different. This time it was your ride from the battlefield. We held hands and I could tell you knew it was for the last time. Your last words to me were “Thanks for being there Doc…” I stood as others carried you to the bird. I couldn’t take that last walk with you. I couldn’t move. So I stood. I watched the bird take off and I stood there. You always said “Stand tall, no matter what.” So I stood. I’m sorry I stood there. I didn’t know what else to do. I’m sorry I stood there when Carol asked if I was with you. I didn’t know what to say. So I stood there. Standing was the only thing I knew to do because through it all we stood. Me and you. Thank you for everything; your guidance, your laughter, your friendship. I hope you will forgive me for standing.

 

R.I.P.

 

 

Doc

Leave a Reply

